Menu
Search

1818 Blog

Purchasers of Tobacco Products in Illinois now must be 21 years old.

On April 7, 2019, Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker signed a bill designed to raise the minimum legal age for purchasing tobacco products from 18 to 21. Public Act 101-0002 amends the state’s current Prevention of Tobacco Use by Minors and Sale and Distribution of Tobacco Products Act (720 ILCS 675), and “Prohibits the purchase of tobacco products, electronic cigarettes, or alternative nicotine products by a person under 21 years of age” Public Act 101-0002.

The law comes from growing concern about the numbers of young people becoming addicted to nicotine through vaping and e-cigarettes. In a 2016 report, the U.S. Surgeon General’s office tracked the rapid increase in the use of vaping and e-cigarette by high school students.  The report shows a 900% increase between 2011 and 2015 in high school tobacco usage. This significant increase has prompted several legislative responses, including HB 345, in part because according to the Respiratory Health Association (RHA), 95% of smokers start smoking before the age of 21. Studies also show that the younger a person starts smoking, the more likely they are to become addicted.

Illinois joins a growing list of states and municipalities adopting “Tobacco 21” policies that focus on ensuring that young adults do not become addicted at such an early age. According to Governor Pritzker and advocates of the age increase, the bill “aims to reduce tobacco use among teens and young adults by preventing them from starting” (CNN).

The new law will face challenges in enforcement.  The changes take effect on July 1, 2019, and all establishments selling or offering tobacco products, electronic cigarettes, or other nicotine products will be required to verify that their customers are 21 years of age or older.

The new age requirement brings Illinois law on sales of tobacco products and e-cigarettes more in line with the state’s alcohol laws. These laws give establishments the right to refuse to sell regulated products to anyone unable to provide adequate proof of their age.  The new law also imposes stiff penalties for businesses who fail to request appropriate identification from their customers. In Illinois, “adequate proof” is defined as “a document issued by a federal, state, county or municipal government including, but not limited to, a driver’s license, selective service card or an Armed Services identification card” (“Just the Facts”).

The state has taken steps to make checking I.D.s for legal age easier by issuing driver’s licenses in two different designs. In Illinois, all “Under 21” driver’s licenses and identification cards have a vertical instead of horizontal orientation.  Under 21 drivers licenses also come with a red bar under the person’s picture that indicates the date when they will turn 21 years of age. The state has also included several security features designed to hinder the reproduction or alteration of an I.D.

The information in this blog post is provided for informational purposes only and is not intended to be legal advice. You should not make a decision whether or not to contact an attorney based upon the information in this blog post. No attorney-client relationship is formed nor should any such relationship be implied. If you require legal advice, please consult with an attorney licensed to practice in your jurisdiction.

Categories

Archives

Recent Blog

Contact Us

Get In Touch

Please fill out all fields and submit to request your consultation.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Call Now Button